What is Maine's biggest attraction
Maine Sights and Highlights
Harriet Beecher Stowe House
In Brunswick, in the 63 Federal Street, is that Harriet Beecher Stowe House. The historic house is originally known as the Stonemore House. Harriet Beecher Stowe and her husband rented it because her husband taught at nearby Bowdoin College. you lived between 1850 and 1852 in this house and wrote the well-known during this time Roman Uncle Tom's Cabin (Uncle Tom's Cabin), an anti-slavery novel that caused a stir around the world. Built it became 1837 and in 1962 it was designated a National Historic Landmark. Just four years later, it was entered on the National Register of Historic Places. The Beecher Stowe House is owned by Bowdoin College and is not open to the public.
Joshua L. Chamberlain Museum
At the corner of the Maine and Potter Street in Brunswick, is that Residential building the former President of Bowdoin College and Governor of Maine, Joshua L. Chamberlain. Chamberlain, who is also a general in the American Civil War was lived here for more than 50 years. After buying the house, he carried out numerous conversions and renovations. The house is open to the public.Spaces the during a guided tour The Dining Room, Curvy Room, Longfellow Parlor, Entryway, Governor's Room, Library, Formal Parlor and Architectural History Room can be visited. Individual pieces that are also exhibited are the Boots the Chamberlain in the Battle of Gettysburg wore his chair and desk from his time as governor, the saddle of his horse Charlemagne, and the minié bullet that nearly killed Chamberlain in the Battle of Petersburg.
Peary-MacMillan Arctic Museum
The Peary-MacMillan Arctic Museum is a museum in the Hubbard Hall of Bowdoin College in Brunswick. It was named after the two Arctic explorers and Bowdoin College graduates Robert E. Peary and Donald B. MacMillannamed and is one of two museums in the US that is only Dedicated to Arctic Studies. Founded became the museum 1985. Peary and MacMillan went on numerous expeditions to the Arctic together but also on their own. The museum shows Exhibitions to different aspects of the Arctic, from natural life, such as plants and animals, to the cultural life of people who come from the arctic region. Artifacts in the collection include Peary's and MacMillan's equipment, anthropological objects, Inuit art, films, archival and natural items. The free entry.
Pejepscot Historical Museum
Founded in the year 1888 and one of the oldest historical societies in Maine, it has become the Pejepscot Historical Society made the task Preserve the history of Brunswick, Topshams and Harpswells and share. Visitors can visit the Library learn everything about the history of this region. The Pejepscot Historical Museum is one of the three historical museums established by the Historical Society. It is that open all year round and shows the history of this region in various exhibitions. The Pejepscot Historical Museum was named after the Native Americanswho lived in the Brunswick area. The museum building was Built in 1858 in the Italiante architectural style. The free entry.
The Skolfield-Whittier House is a victorian museum the Pejepscot Historical Society in Brunswick. It is also often referred to as a time capsule because it has been untouched since the Victorian era. The house was between 1858 and 1862 for the sons of the wealthy shipbuilder George Skolfield built. One side of the house is in Italiante style built. After the death of the last Skolfield son, his daughter Eugenie married Frank Whittier, who was Maine's first forensic doctor. They lived here together with their three daughters. After Frank Whittier died in 1924, Eugenie went traveling and only visited the house with her daughters in the summer. The last surviving family member left the property to the Pejepscot Historical Society. The museum is open during the Summer season for guided tours open.
Maine Windjammer Cruises
To discover the beautiful Maine landscape more closely and to see it from a different perspective, is one Sailing tour with Windjammer Cruises the optimal possibility. The starting point of a Windjammer sailing tour is Camden, the headquarters of this traditional company. The fleet the Windjammer Cruises consists of the three tall ships Grace Bailey, Mercantile and Mistress. The flagship the Maine Windjammer Cruises, the Grace Bailey is that Built in 1882 has been. In contrast to her sister ships, the Mistress is very small. Although it is only suitable for 6 people, it also offers more privacy and individuality. Maine Windjammer Cruises has been around since 1936 and fascinates people all over the world year after year. The combination between a sailing holiday, where you can lend a hand and experience a very special feeling of freedom and luxury at the same time, is what makes the special attraction here. In the morning you are woken up by the scent of brewed coffee and freshly baked goods, breakfast and lunch can be enjoyed on deck with a wonderful panorama and in the evening you can enjoy a typical one "New England Lobster Bake" (Lobster Party) - what could be nicer ...
Cape Elizabeth Lights
In Cape Elizabeth is the eponymous Cape Elizabeth Lights lighthouse also known as Two Lights. In contrast to the western tower, the eastern of the two towers is still active. Built became Two Lights already 1828 and it was also on the National Register of Historic Places. They say the white tower and the house with its red roof are those most photographed motif of Maine and that is understandable, because it is still original and is in a fantastic location. Especially in the evening the panorama is unique and beautiful.
Portland Head Light
In the middle of the Fort Williams Park, south of Portland on the Cape Elizabeth coast Maine's oldest lighthouse. The 23 m The high tower still sends out white light for orientation for the sea steamers. That in the year Erected in 1891 Lighthouse keeper's house serves as amuseum and shows from mid-April to mid-December various exhibits on the history of the lighthouse. The lighthouse was built as early as 1787, but over the years there have been repeated alterations and renovations.
The Wilson Museum is located in Castine and was dated Geologist Dr. John Howard Wilson foundedIn 1891 Wilson came to Castine with his mother. She used the western part of the country to build a museum for John's collections. Three more buildings were added in the late 1960s, these were the Blacksmith Shop, the Hearse House and the John Perkins House. The exhibits feature stones, minerals, shells, prehistoric artifacts from North and South America, early weapons and firearms, ship models, a replica kitchen from 1805, and a victorian drawing room shown. The Blacksmith Shop shows a typical Blacksmith's shop from 1860. The John Perkins House was built as a one-story house in 1763 and enlarged and expanded in 1783. Today the kitchen and four other rooms can be viewed, which still look exactly like they did back then. Hearse House exhibits hearses that were used over 100 years ago in summer and winter.
The Olson House is a colonial farmhouse with 14 rooms. It was in the late 1700s of Captain Samuel Hathorn built. The descendants Christina and Alvaro Olsen inherited the house in 1929. The Olson House became known through the Christina's World painting by Andrew Wyeth. The house and its residents, Christina and Alvaro, were depicted in numerous paintings and sketches by Wyeth from 1939 to 1968. The Olsons and their house were a huge inspiration to Wyeth, especially the story of Christina who lost her legs to polio. The house itself fascinated him so much because for him it was the The epitome of New England and Maine was. In 1991 the house was converted to the Farnsworth Art Museum, a Art museum with a variety of Wyeth's worksincluding drawings, watercolors, and tempera paintings with Christina Olson, her brother Alvaro, and the house itself. The house was designated a National Historic Landmark in 2011 and was listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Woodlawn Museum, Gardens & Park
John Black built the imposing 72 hectare between 1824 and 1827 Woodlawn estate near Ellsworth. Three generations of the Black family once lived here. The famous Black Mansion is also known as the Woodlawn Black House. The family home was built in Georgian style built and also listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Visitors can do that historical house museum explore, walk in the gardens and public park, Play croquet, untouched Hiking trails discover and much more. The house is still furnished like this, among other things. with original household items, as it was during the family's lifetime. You can also see European and American furnishings, Portraits, carpets from the mid-19th century, books, family photographs, sleighs and wagons, as well as a large collection of porcelain and glassware. The Woodlawn landscape is just as important to the story as the buildings and collections. Woodlawn was once a farm, surviving stone walls still indicate this today. Woodlawn Gardens are vibrant places full of color and sweet scents. A Lilac hedge encloses the garden, which was designed in 1903 in the Colonial Revival Style. Local produce is available at Woodlawn Farmers Market. In 1969 the beautiful property was added to the National Register of Historic Places.
Fort Kent State Historic Site
The construction this historical forts, has been Completed in 1839 and is located in Fort Kent, at the confluence of the Fish River and the St. John River. The only thing left of the former fort today is that Log cabin. It was built to secure the state borders that were passed by Aroostook Wars seemed to be in danger. The log cabin is a two story building with walls made of cedar wood. The fort was named after the governor Edward Kent. Fort Kent was Maine's first historic landmark. It was designated a National Historic Landmark and was listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Baxter House Museum
The historical house museum located in Gorham. It was 1797 in the Federal architectural style from I.Saac Gilkey built. In 1812 it was finally given to Dr. Elihu Baxter sold. Baxter's youngest son was born here and years later mayor of Portland for six terms. In 1907, Baxter proposed to Governor Robie to finance a public library if he could convert his parents' house into a museum in return. Robie agreed and just a year later the museum opened in Gorham. The museum is also listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Many citizens donated items to the museum. Baxter furnished a room with old family furniture and books. The museum shows the history of Gorham with the artefacts and tries to give an impression of how the residents lived here back then.
Brick Store Museum
That’s in Kennebunk Brick Store Museum. The beautiful historical house has been Built in 1936 and was one of the few museums that opened during the Great Depression. This is shown in various collections and exhibitions Legacy of Kennebunks depicted. On display are paintings from the 19th century as well as shipbuilding tools, clothing from the 18th century, contemporary art, housewares, maritime artifacts, photographs, letters, postcards and much more. In the heart of Kennebunk's National Register Historic District, the museum is on Main Street. The Brick Store Museum Complex is the oldest commercial block in Kennebunk, as the beginnings date from 1810 to 1860. The buildings that are now part of the museum complex were once a library, a telegraph office, a furniture store, a grocery store, a car repair shop, a department store and apartments.
Wedding Cake House
Kennebunk is home to Maine's most photographed house, the Wedding Cake House, which is also called George W. Bourne House is known. The house owes the nickname "Wedding Cake" to its special appearance with the eye-catching decorationsthat is very reminiscent of a wedding cake. The historic house in the Summer Street, has been 1825 from Shipbuilder George W. Bourne erected. He also built a barn that he connected to the main house, but it was destroyed after a fire. In Milan he let himself be drawn to the beauty of the im Gothic style cathedral inspired and then built the coach house and barn in a style that would later be known as the Carpenter Gothic style in architecture. After restoration by the last remaining people, it was completed in 1984 and has been open to the public since 2005.
Sea Shore Trolley Museum
This is in Kennebunkport Seashore Trolley Museumthat supposedly largest and oldest museum With Vehiclespublic transport worldwide. The museum was Founded in 1939 and has a collection with more than 260 vehicles. Most of the trams are on display in the museum, but there are also some trolleybuses, subway cars and omnibuses. The vehicles are coming mostly from New England, but also from other areas of the USA and Canada, Japan, Australia, Hungary, Italy, Germany, England and Scotland. The vehicles on display are located in three depots and have all been restored to a roadworthy condition. The rDrive restored vehicles at certain times on the Museum's own 2.41 km route from the visitor center to Talbot Park and back. In addition to the visitor center in the main building, there is also a shop, a snack bar and an exhibition room with various exhibits and a hall for restoration work that can be visited.
Ski Museum of Maine
This is in Kingfield Ski Museum of Mainethat aims to preserve the history and legacy of skiing. The focus is on Artefacts and documents related to Maine. In 2009 the Museum moved from Farmington to Kingfield. It is now at the Route 27 in downtown Kingfield, near historic Herbert Hotel and 15 miles from Sugarloaf Mountain. The collection includes around three dozen pairs of skis made in Maine and dating from the early 20th century, as well as numerous examples of leather ski boots and a variety of accessories. The museum was founded in 1995 when members of the Sugarloaf Ski Club decided to create a museum as a repository during a clean-up campaign. The collection also includes several thousand Sugarloaf Ski Club documents, a valuable collection of records and newspaper clippings about clubs and ski areas in the Bangor area, a pair of mini skis, ski equipment, skis, boots, accessories and also photographs.
Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul
In Lewiston is the Basilica of Saints Peter and Paulthat too St. Peter and Paul Church is called and the Roman Catholic Diocese Portland belongs. It was named after the Saints Peter and Paul. The Basilica of Saint Peter and Saint Paul is the second largest church in New England and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The church is definitely worth seeing, and not just because of it Gothic architectural stylebut also because of the interior.
The is located in Lewiston at 11 Sabattus Street Kora Temple, a historical one Masonic building. He was 1908 built by an ancient Arab order, the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. The Shriners are fraternal organizationassociated with Freemasonry. They are also for theirs charitable worksknown as the Shriners Hospitals for Children, which provide free medical care to children.The historic Kora Temple was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1975.
Norlands Living History Center
This is in Livermore Norlands Living History Centerwhich was once the home of the Israel and Martha Washburn families. They were one of the great political and industrial ones 19th century dynasties. Today the property is a museum that illustrates life on a farm in the 18th and 19th centuries. The Washburn-Norlands Living History Center offers a variety interactive programsthat allow guests to experience life in Maine in the 18th and 19th centuries up close. The Washburn-Norlands estate consists of four historic buildings, the manor, the library, the meeting house and the schoolhouse. Each of these buildings has been restored and is now its own small museum. It will be a Variety of collections and artifacts on display, including paintings and works of art, original Washburn artifacts, period clothing, books, furniture and much more.
Willowbrook Museum Village
This extends to about 4 hectares open air museum in Newfield. It offers you Insight into the life of the 19th century and is just the thing for history buffs. There are two historic houses with barns, a replica school, a bandstand and a mill pond. For a visit to the Willowbrook Museum Village should be about Schedule three hours. Horse-drawn sleighs and carriages, a Concord stagecoach from 1849, an Armitage-Herschell carousel from 1894 and gas engines can be viewed here, as can exhibitions of various goods and tools. You can also hire a blacksmith, broom maker, canoe maker, cooper, shoemaker, saddler, book printer, wheelwright and forest worker at the Work to see. There are opportunities for a picnic or lunch in the Sandwich Shop & Ice Cream Parlor on the entire site.
Sabbathday Lake Shaker Village
Near New Gloucester is that Sabbathday Lake Shaker Village. The last three members of the Shaker community live here. The exact founding date of the Shaker settlement on Sabbathday Lake is not known, but it is believed that it was founded between 1782 and 1793. In order to live a godly life, manual skill and diligence had the highest priority for them, which led to them being one of the wealthiest people of that time. The shakers at Sabbathday Lake were pure self-catering. Even today, visitors can immerse themselves in the history of this extremely believing community Immerse yourself in the preserved buildings such as the Community Meetinghouse, the Shaker Library, Ox Barn, The Girl's Shop, Cart and Carriage Shed, the Brooder House, Herb House and the Wood House. in the Shaker Museum (largest repository of Shaker culture in the state of Maine) becomes the History of the community shown. However, visitors should strictly abide by the rules and be respectful of the residents, Dogs and other pets are, for example, on the entire area not allowed. The settlement was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1974.
Nowetah's American Indian Museum
New Portland is home to the museum and shop that has been around for 1969 consists. Founded it was from Nowetah Cyr-Curator, a descendant of the St. Francis Abenaki and Paugussett Indians. Nowetah's Indian Store and Museum is very picturesque on one Edge of the forest amidst the beautiful Western Mountains of Maine. The family-run museum wants the Native American culture received and passed on in appropriate training courses, dances and spiritual rites and teaches respect for mother earth. Visitors can click here 2,400 m² Experience Indian culture. Among other things, soapstone carvings, dream catchers, arrows and bows, freight sleds, crooked knives, prehistoric ceramics, carpets, Indian dolls, necklaces and much more are exhibited. One wall of the building is hung with animal hides and skins.
Ogunquit Museum of American Art
The museum houses an impressive Modern American Painting Collection and sculptures of the 20th century. The Ogunquit Museum of American Art was Founded in 1953. In the museum shop you can buy replicas of special works of art and gifts. The grounds of the museum are also lined with beautiful lawns and green areas, sculptures, a pool and secluded benches to enjoy the tranquility.
Old Orchard Beach
In the city of Old Orchard Beach is the Palace Playland amusement park, it is the only New England theme park located on the beach. With its many rides, carousels and roller coasters, Palace Playland offers the whole family an exciting and entertaining beach day of a different kind. The park is only open on selected days Open in the summer season.
This is in Orono Hudson Museum, that in Collins Center for the Arts is housed and operated by the University of Maine. Built was that Anthropology Museum 1986. The museum's collection includes Native American baskets and tools for making such baskets, pre-Colombian ceramics, weapons and goldsmithing, jewelry, pottery, textiles, clothing, tools, and contemporary Native American art.
Umbrella Cover Museum
The Umbrella Cover Museum is located on Peaks Island and is dedicated to a large collection of Umbrella covers. Had the idea for such a museum Nancy Hoffmanwho had collected more than 60 umbrella covers from over 30 countries. 1996 founded She ended up having her first small museum in her kitchen, but as the collection grew, the museum moved. The museum's mission is to appreciate the everyday things in life. It's about getting to know the wonders and the beauty of the simplest things and knowing that they always have a story. From Barbie doll covers to parasol covers, everything is represented. There are also special exhibitions such as "People and Their Covers" and "New Umbrella Cover Fashions".
All Souls Chapel
In Poland Spring is the historic chapel All Souls Chapel. she got 1912 originally for guests and employees of the Poland Spring Resort built and has had a central place on the National Register of Historic Places for several years. There are several in the chapel hand-painted windows and a wonderful organ of the type Opus 564. The chapel is mainly used for weddings, baptisms, performances and concerts. It was built on the highest point of the property and overlooks the magnificent surroundings from there.
- Can you write a poem about being alone
- What are hippos and sharks
- Why do sharks die in captivity
- All non-Abrahamic religions are considered pagan
- Has pure water concentration
- Does Quora tilt left or right
- How does the sun affect the weather?
- What are the rules of blackjack
- Did Eddie Redmayne deserve his Oscar
- What is the simple pleasure of childhood
- Which websites are about noetic science?
- How do I improve my practical skills
- Can you integrate Salesforce with TFS
- How to say aunt in Hebrew
- How could blockchain affect recruitment
- Which is better CBSC or ICSE
- Why shouldn't online consumers want regulations?
- What is the universal currency at Roblox
- How big is a qubit
- Can we use thinner in oil colors?
- What is the best grind for AeroPress
- What did Galileo Galilei contribute to science?
- What is an alternative to Gumtree
- Labiaplasty when stitches dissolve