Who rules for Australia

Politics Australia: Parliament, Commonwealth & Parties

The Politics in Australia is still very much influenced by the British even today. Even if the demand for a change to the republic is gaining support, the Australian form of government is still a democratic parliamentary monarchy. The parliament consists of a lower house (House of Representatives) and an upper house (Senate). The head of state of the 5th continent is Queen Elizabeth II. Thus the Australian constitution contains elements of the parliamentary tradition of England as well as elements of the constitution of the United States. As head of government, the prime minister is responsible, who is thus head of the entire state government.


Australian Politics Overview

Every three years, the members of the House of Representatives (150 seats) are elected in constituencies on the basis of majority voting. The number of seats is determined according to the population of the various states and territories. In the Senate (76 seats) it looks a little different. Here the term of office is six years. The government is ultimately made up of the strongest party, the chairman of which is then the prime minister. In Australia there is a general compulsory vote, which is punishable by a fine if you fail to do so.


Commonwealth of Australia

The "Commonwealth of Australia" consists of six states and two territories:


  1. Queensland (Capital: Brisbane)
  2. New South Wales (capital: Sydney)
  3. Victoria (capital: Melbourne)
  4. South Australia (capital: Adelaide)
  5. Tasmania (capital: Hobart)
  6. Western Australia (capital: Perth)


  1. Australian Capital Territory (Capital: Canberra)
  2. Northern Territory (capital: Darwin).

The biggest parties

The four largest parties in Australia are:

  1. Liberal Party of Australia
  2. Australian Labor Party
  3. The Nationals
  4. The greens

Foreign policy

Due to the ANZUS agreement (Australia, New Zealand, USA) signed in 1951, which guarantees US support to the 5th continent in the event of a military operation, Australia is naturally indebted to the USA. This can be seen on the basis of military missions abroad (e.g. Vietnam, Iraq and Afghanistan), which have very little to do with Australian politics (the ANZUS agreement excluded). The Australian military consists of a little more than 50,000 soldiers (Australian Army: approx. 24,000 soldiers / Royal Australian Air Force: approx. 14,000 soldiers / Royal Australian Navy: 12,500 soldiers). The total budget for the country's armed forces is approximately A $ 24 billion.


You might also be interested in that


First impressions in the video