Why don't Apple Stores have sales

Prevent in-app purchases from the App Store

With Screen Time, you can prevent accidental or unauthorized purchases from the App Store and other Apple services. You can require a password to be entered for purchases, prevent certain types of purchases, or disable purchases entirely.

You can control purchases on an Apple device in several ways:

  • If children in your Family Sharing Group have their own devices, you can review and approve their purchase requests using the Purchase Request feature.
  • If you let children use your device, you can ask for a password every time you buy it.
  • You can also completely turn off in-app purchases using Screen Time on your own or a child's device.

Prevent in-app purchases using Screen Time

  1. Go to Settings> Screen Time, then tap Turn On Screen Time. If you've already turned on Screen Time, skip to step 3.
  2. Tap Continue, then choose My [device] or My child's [device].
    • If you're a parent or guardian on the device and want to prevent another family member from changing your settings, tap Use Screen Time Passcode to generate a passcode. Then enter the code again to confirm. On iOS 13.4 and later, you will be asked to enter your Apple ID and password after confirming the code. This can also be used to reset your screen time code in case you forget it.
    • If you're setting up Screen Time on your child's device, follow the instructions until you get to "Parental Code" and enter a code. Enter the code again to confirm. On iOS 13.4 and later, you will be asked to enter your Apple ID and password after confirming the code. This can also be used to reset your screen time code in case you forget it.
  3. Tap on "Restrictions". Enter your code when prompted, then activate "Content & Privacy".
  4. Tap iTunes & App Store Purchases.
  5. Tap In-App Purchases, then switch to Don't Allow.

You can also go to Settings> Screen Time> Restrictions and tap Allowed Apps. Then turn off iTunes Store and Book Store.

Be sure to choose a different code than the one you use to unlock your device. If you've forgotten a restriction code set on an older version of iOS or iPadOS, or if you've forgotten the Screen Time code, update your device to the latest version of iOS or iPadOS and reset the code. If the device cannot be updated, you can delete it and set it up as a new device so that the code is removed and you can set a new one. Restoring the device from a backup is not enough to remove your code.

Release date: