Can someone delete Snapchat?

Deleting a Snapchat account - How it works

Snapchat is especially popular with children and teenagers. If you have outgrown sending the pictures decorated with filters, we will show you here how you can easily delete your Snapchat account.

If you want to permanently delete your Snapchat account, it is not enough to simply remove the app from your smartphone. In this case, the personal data will still be stored by the operator. You won't find the delete function in the app settings. We'll show you where the option is hidden.

Delete Snapchat account

  1. First, remove the Snapchat app from your iPhone or Android device.
  2. Then open the Snapchat website and log in with your username and password.
  3. Now choose the option Delete my account
  4. Re-enter the login details for the account you want to delete and click on Further.

Your Snapchat account will initially be deactivated for 30 days and your friends will no longer be able to contact you during this time. After the deadline, all your data will be permanently deleted. This affects all of your snaps, chats, contacts and stories. Your Snapchat name can also be reassigned after the account has been deleted.

If you have decided otherwise and would like to continue using the Messenger with your profile, simply log in to Snapchat again with your access data before the 30 days have expired. Sometimes, however, it can take up to 24 hours before a deactivated account can be reactivated.

Alternative way via the app

There is another, if a little more cumbersome, way you can delete your Snapchat account. This will lead you to the support area via the app settings.

  1. Open your profile in the Snapchat app by tapping your profile picture in the top left.
  2. Tap the gear icon in the top right.
  3. Scroll to the menu item Support and click on I need help.
  4. Choose here My account and security and subsequently Account details
  5. Now tap on Delete my account.
  6. Here you will find all the important information about the deletion process as well as the corresponding link to the accounts portal. There you now carry out the steps mentioned above to delete your Snapchat account.